Homemade English Muffins


I was really craving English Muffins today and the store only had Thomas English Muffins.  I’m not a fan of Thomas’ flavor, so I decided I would figure out how to make some at home (and I’m so glad I did)!  I make a lot of bread so it was inevitable that I would make some homemade English Muffins one day!  These are actually pretty easy to make, and they are some darn good English muffins.

Yield: 16 English Muffins
Ingredients:
4.5 cups all purpose flour
.25 ounces active dry yeast
1.5 tsp granulated sugar
1.5 cups 110 degree F water
1 egg
.25 cups honey
.5 tsp salt

Let the fun begin!
In the bowl of a stand mixer with the paddle attachment fitted, stir the yeast and sugar with 1 cup of water to dissolve for 2 minutes.  Add the egg, salt, 1 cup of flour, honey, and the last 1/2 cup of water, and beat until incorporated.  Next, add the remaining 3.5 cups of flour, 1 cup at a time, and mix until the flour disappears on low speed.  The last cup will cause the mixer to strain a little bit, so change the attachment to the dough hook and knead the dough for 10 minutes on medium low speed until it comes together.

Brush a mixing bowl with olive oil and transfer the dough to the bowl, turning the dough around to coat all sides with the oil.  Cover the dough with plastic wrap and let it double in size, which will take about an hour.

Flour your countertop and dump the dough onto it and roll it half an inch thick.  Use metal cutters or the rims of glasses to cut circles out of the dough (I don’t have cutters so I used my teacup hehehe).

Set your English muffins on a buttered baking sheet a couple inches apart.

Bake at 400 degrees F for 7 minutes.  Take the muffins out, flip them over, and bake for another 7 minutes (so the bottoms are browned).  Cool the English muffins on wire racks and when you’re ready to eat them, cut them in half, toast and butter them up! (Or put on jam, peanut butter, marmalade, whatever you like).

Please leave any questions, suggestions, or comments below.  I would love to hear them!

This entry was posted in Bread and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade English Muffins

  1. Jaqie says:

    They look delicious! Hika and I LOVE english muffins, I gotta try this!

  2. Cassidy Swanson says:

    Hi Joanne,

    I happened to see a link to your blog on my friend Sam Duquette’s Facebook page. I love foodie blogs and couldn’t resist! 🙂 Do you think this recipe would work with whole-wheat flour rather than all-purpose? I just prefer the taste of whole wheat English muffins over regular white, and I like to bake with whole wheat when I make large quantities of things so I’m not eating a lot of white flour. I’d be happy to share my results if you haven’t tried it yet yourself. Thanks! 🙂

    • Hey Cassidy! It’s so great to meet you =) I have not tried this with whole wheat flour, but I would be very interested to see how it would work out (and I’m sure other readers would be too). If you want to give it a try, I would love to have your results shared with everybody. Such a great idea! I love food collaboration ❤

  3. Mariana Pugliese says:

    I’m very excited to learn from you, Joanne! Also, I spy an exciting mug in the background of one of your muffin pictures!! ;D :p

    I also like the name for this blog…spatulas really are necessary to take every single atom of food-goodness from the bowl into the dish! Yum!

    • hehehe Pete and I use your mugs all the time! I didn’t even realize it was in the photo. Yes, I tried really hard to find a good name, and I really like the one I ended up with. Spatulas are the most important tool in the kitchen 😉

  4. Andrew says:

    These muffins are particularly great for sandwiches!

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

