My Go-To Peanut Butter Cookies

To me, a peanut butter cookie should be slightly crisp on the edges, but soft, chewy, and moist in the middle.  And I find that a lot of peanut butter cookies out there are too dry, or too brittle, or don’t have enough peanut butter flavor.  A while back when I was going through Matt Lewis’s Baked, I came across this peanut butter cookie recipe and it satisfied all peanut butter cookie cravings I had.  So now I’m passing it on to you, here’s how to do it:

Yield: About 2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:
8.75 oz all purpose flour (1.75 cups)
2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 cup sugar
1 cup firmly packed dark brown sugar
2 eggs, at room temperature
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 cup peanut butter

Directions:
Whisk to combine the flour, baking soda, and salt.  Set aside.

Cream together the butter, sugar, and brown sugar, by first whipping the butter a bit, then slowly streaming in the sugar, then adding the brown sugar.  Review my creaming article if you need to review the creaming process.  Scrape down the bowl, then add the eggs one at a time, beating until fully combined.  Add the vanilla and peanut butter, and mix until incorporated.

Add half the flour mixture to the wet ingredients, and mix for 15 seconds.  Add the rest of the flour, and mix just until the flour disappears.  Cover the bowl and chill in the refrigerator for 3 hours (this is necessary so the cookies don’t spread flat in the oven).

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.

Use a disher to portion out mounds of cookie dough about 2 inches apart, and bake for 10 minutes until golden brown.  Let the peanut butter cookies cool for a few minutes on the baking sheets until they have set enough to move them to a wire rack.  Enjoy!

Click here for the printable recipe.

Recipe adapted from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking by Matt Lewis and Renato Poliafito.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Dessert and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My Go-To Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Love peanut butter cookies! Anything with peanut butter is good with me!

  2. Nydia says:

    Perfect cookies….!!!

  3. You have the right idea and maybe I need to make some PB cookies:) Thanks for sharing!

  4. TheGrubDaily says:

    I want to make these right now!!! Peanut butter cookies are my favorite and these sound amazing!!

  5. Caroline says:

    I have a go-to peanut butter recipe as well! I can almost make them from memory now…almost. I don’t trust myself that much though, I’d probably accidentally put in 1 tbsp. of salt or something haha. Your cookies look fantastic!

  6. Yummy, spatula. They look perfect. I’ve still never baked with peanut butter :(

  7. Oh yum! I’ve been looking for a good peanut butter cookie recipe! Thanks – will be trying this one!

  8. anne says:

    Yumminess !!!! Looks gorgeous , too ;)

  9. magicofspice says:

    They look perfect! I have not made peanut butter cookies since my kids were little, they would enjoy these :)

Enlighten us all with your food thoughts and wisdom =)

